This blog will help you to know how to change ownership of a google drive folder.
How to change ownership of a google drive folder? Open Google drive -> Click on the files or folders -> Click on Share icon. Then Enter the email id of the person and then click on Send. Then click on the down arrow -> make owner option.
You’re completely responsible for whatever files and folders you create in your drive, right? Of course, that’s how all the file systems work. But with the advent of cloud sharing, it’s obvious that someone else would expect to own a file when shared.
Businesses operate this way in common. Thus it’s almost essential to understand how the ownership of a folder and its content gets changed in google drive.
It’s not a complex process as it sounds. Let’s explore in-depth possible ways to change ownership of a google drive folder.
Words of caution when before you change ownership of a google drive folder
Kindly note, once you transfer ownership of a file or folder to someone else, you won’t be able to revoke the changes yourself. What? Yes, you heard it right. In fact, the new owner can even remove you entirely from the file or folder if they want. In addition, you won’t be able to delete the file or folder or share it with anyone else after that.
You can only transfer ownership of Google drive files and folders. When you make someone else the owner of a folder, you still own the files inside.
Note: If you transfer ownership of a lot of files and folders at once, it may take some time for you to see the changes.
- What happens if I delete a shared file from google drive?
- How to upload photos from google drive to Facebook?
Table Of Contents
Files you can transfer ownership in google drive
From your personal Google Drive account, you can transfer the following file types:
- Google Docs
- Google Sheets
- Google Slides
- Google Forms
- Google Drawings
- Google My Maps
Note: When you transfer ownership of a folder it transfers only the ownership of selected folder and does not include the files inside.
Change ownership of a google drive folder
Changing the ownership of a Google Drive folder in the computer is as easy as follows:
- Open Google Drive in your browser
- Click the file or folder you want to change ownership to someone else.
- Click Share or Share .
On a side note,
Here’s what people can do with folders after you share it with them:
- – Can organize, add, & edit: If they’re signed into a Google account, people can open, edit, delete, or move any files within the folder. People can also add files to the folder.
- – Can view only: People can see the folder and they can open all files within the folder.
- Enter the email ID of the person who needs the access
- Then click send
- Make sure you have shared the file or folder to the person whom you want to transfer the ownership with.
- Now to the right of a person you’ve already shared the file with, click the Down arrow .
- Click on “Make owner” option.
- As we already discussed, a pop opens up saying “The new owner will be notified and could remove you. You also might lose the ability to change share settings. Some people will lose access to this unless this is shared directly with them” “
- Confirm it by clicking yes on the popup that opens up.
Note: Even if you make someone else the owner of a file, you can edit the file unless the new owner decides to change your access.
Changing ownership of a google drive folder in Android devices
You can’t change owners from an Android device as of now. But you can always change the owner of a file, by going to drive.google.com on a computer.
Changing the ownership of a google drive folder in iPhone/iPad
Similarly, you can’t change owners from iPad/iPhone devices. The only way to change the owner of a file, go to drive.google.com on a computer.
Things to be considered before transferring ownership of a google drive folder
Being the owner of a file/folder gives you all the possible control over it, and once you change owners, you give up all those controls. Guessed it, right? So before you transfer ownership, here are the things you’ll no longer be able to do:
- Removing collaborators
- Sharing the file/folder with any other people you wish later
- Changing visibility options
- Allowing your collaborators to change access privileges for others
- Permanently deleting something from Google Drive. After it’s deleted, no one can access it, including those it was shared with.
When you transfer ownership of a folder from yourself to someone else, the new owner of the folder becomes an editor of the files in that folder. The original owners of the files remain the owners.
Make sure to transfer ownership of your files, folders, and Google documents to another active account if your current account is being deleted. Once the account is deleted, you won’t be able to recover anything from your deleted Google Drive account.
That’s all there is to it. It’s that super simple. Transferring permission of a folder in google drive is no more a hassle. Try changing ownership of a google drive folder now and get your hands dirty with the above trick.
You may like the following google drive tutorials: