How to organize google drive shared with me?

Google Drive is free cloud-based storage that allows you to sync stored documents, photos, and files across your devices from anywhere. Google Drive files come up with options to add and remove collaborators using the “Share” options. Now, let us see how to organize google drive shared with me.

You can control who can make changes to the shared document. “Shared with me” in Google Drive is usually very unorganized, and cluttered. It may look like a mess and frustrating to view. You may even find it hard to search for files.

So for accessing Google Drive files easily, you must organize them. Even though there is no straight way you can organize Google Drive “Shared with me” files, there are few workarounds you can follow to organize them. Let’s dive deep to know how to organize Google Drive “Shared with me” files.

You may like following Google drive tutorials:

Shared with me Google Drive storage

“Shared with me” in Google Drive shows files that you do not own, but that has been shared with you by collaborators and other people. Depending upon the permission your collaborator given, you may have permission to view, comment, or edit those Google Drive files.

By clicking on “Shared with Me” in the left sidebar of Google Drive, you can see the files that are shared with you. By default, shared files and folders are sorted with the most recent at the top. The “Shared with Me” section of Google Drive lists shared files in the “date” order.

You can’t locate files from the “Shared with Me” section using Drive’s powerful search tool. If you have already created folders in “My Drive”, then you’ll see an arrow next to that icon.

When you click on that arrow, it displays the sub-folders. But you will not see a similar arrow next to “Shared with me”.This is because you can’t create folders in “Shared with me”.

“My Drive” — To organize Google Drive “Shared with me”

The best way to organize your shared files in Google Drive “Shared with me” is by moving them to “My Drive” and organize over there. You can easily organize Google Drive “Shared with me” files in “My Drive” because unlike “Shared with me”, you can organize your My Drive.

So, one of the easiest ways to organize “Shared with me” files is by adding the shared files and folders you use regularly to your “My Drive”. 

Moving shared folders in google drive

Even though you can’t create folders in “Shared with me” storage, you can move those files to folders in My Drive. Shared folders are entirely different from shared drives. 

Moving a file or folder from a “Shared with me” into “My Drive” is a move and not a copy. So the moved files from “Shared with me” are removed from it. Once you move shared folders into “My Drive”, you won’t be able to see the moved files or folders in the “Shared with me”.

Any kind of permissions on the moved files that were inherited from the shared folder will be removed, and new permissions will be inherited from the destination folder (Permissions that are explicitly set that folder).

How to move shared files from “Shared with me” to “My Drive”?

You can easily move shared files from “Shared with me” to “My drive” to organize those shared files. To move the shared files,

  • Click on the “Shared with me” option in the left side menu of the Google Drive.
  • Click on the shared file you want to organize into “Google Drive” and drag into “My Drive” or a My Drive sub-folder in the left sidebar.
  • To move a bulk of shared files, first select the files you want to organize. Now right-click on any place you have selected and select “Add to My Drive”
  • You can also click on the “Add to My Drive” icon at the top.

Now your “Shared with me” files are added to “My Drive”.“My Drive” provides various options to organize your files into folders. You can create folders, sort them in whatever order you want and so more.

Star files — To organize Google Drive “Shared with me”

You can use the “Starred” option to organize Google Drive “Shared with me” files when there is a need to access files frequently for a short period of time. Starring your Shared files will help you organize the files for quick access.

To add a star to the “Shared with me” files in Google Drive,

  • Click on the “Shared with me” option in the left side menu of the Google Drive.
  • Select the files you want to organize.
  • Right-click on the file and select “Add to Starred”.
organize Google Drive Shared with me files
organize google drive shared with me
  • Or you can simply press ‘S’ to star the shared file.
  • If you now open the “Starred” section on the left side of the Google Drive, you can view all the shared files you added.

Workaround to organize Google Drive “Shared with me” — ‘Search’

You can use the search option to organize Google Drive shared files when those files are not needed to access very often.

You can use some advanced search operations available in Google Drive to make your search as efficient as possible to find the desired shared files.

  • You can choose the type of file you are looking for such as a document, spreadsheet by clicking on the little grey arrow on the right of the search box.
  • In the ‘Owner’ dropdown, you can choose ‘Not owned by me’ that will help you find out shared files. 
  • If you know who owns the shared file, click ‘Specific person’ and enter their name or email address. This will help you find your shared file in no time.
  • If you remember some words in the shared file, you can also them “Includes the words” field to search through both the title and the contents of the file (even PDFs).
how to organize Google Drive Shared with me files
organize google drive shared with me

These search strategies will help you to quickly locate the shared files.

And voila! You can easily organize Google Drive Shared with me files using the above workarounds.

Leave a Comment