How to remove someone from Google Drive

Google Drive provides various sharing options that allow you to share your documents. So, you may wonder how to remove someone from Google Drive. Let’s dive deep to know how to remove someone from Google Drive.

Remove someone from Google Drive

If you find yourself in a situation where you want to stop sharing your Google Drive document, then you have to edit some sharing settings.

If you share your Google Drive file with people, the owner or anyone with edit permissions can change the sharing settings for the file. If you don’t want anyone to change the sharing settings of your Google Docs file, you have to remove the edit permissions, too.

How to remove someone from Google Drive on the computer?

Let us see how to remove someone from Google Drive.

Step 1: Open your Google Drive and find the file you want to remove someone from that Google Drive file.

Step 2: Click on the Google Drive file and then click on the ‘Share’ icon at the top right of the Google Drive file. You can also right-click on that Google Drive file and then click ‘Share’ from the pop-up box that opens.

Step 3: This will open up a “Share with People and Groups ” window.

Step 4: Find the person you want to remove from your Google Drive file.

Step 5: You can see the dropdown at the right end to their name. Click the dropdown > Remove. Check out the screenshot below.

remove someone from google drive

You can remove whoever you want to remove from the Google Drive file using the same method mentioned above.

How to remove someone from Google Drive on Android Mobile?

Follow the below steps

Step 1: Open your Google Drive app on Android mobile and find the file you want to remove someone from that Google Drive file.

Step 2: Tap on the three vertical dots on the right of the Google Drive file name and then tap the ‘Share’ option.

Step 3: This will open up the “Share ” screen.

Step 4: Now tap on the “who has access” at the bottom of the screen.

Step 5: This will open up a screen showing the entire list of people you have shared the Google Drive file with.

Step 6: Find the person you want to remove from your Google Drive file and tap on that name.

Step 7: You can see a pop-up box at the bottom of the window

Step 8: Tap ‘Remove’.

Repeat the same method to remove people from your Google Drive file.

How to remove everyone from Google Drive?

Even though there is no straight way you can entirely remove all people from Google Drive shared files, there are certain workarounds you can try. One of them is restricting link sharing for a Google Drive file.

Restrict link sharing for a Google Drive file

When you change your Google Docs link’s setting to ‘Restricted’, the only people who can still see your Google Drive file are those you have directly shared (by entering your Gmail address )within the ‘Share with people and groups’ section.

How to restrict link sharing for a file to remove some people on your computer?

Step 1: Open your Google Drive and find the file you want to remove from that Google Drive file.

Step 2: Click on the Google Drive file and then click on the ‘Share’ icon at the top right of the Google Drive file. You can also right-click on that Google Drive file and then click ‘Share’ from the open pop-up box.

Step 3 will open the “Share with People and Groups” window.

Step 4: You can see that the “Get link” section will set to be Anyone. This means that anyone on the internet with this link can view it.

Step-5: To remove those people, click “Change”.Click the dropdown next to “Anyone with the link” and select restricted.

how to remove someone from google drive

Your Google Drive file will now be set to ‘restricted,’ which ensures only people added can open with this link. Once you also remove all the collaborators from the Google Drive file, your Google Drive file will be made private.

How to restrict link sharing for a file to remove some people on Android mobile?

Step 1: Open your Google Drive app on Android mobile and find the file you want to remove someone from that Google Drive file.

Step 2: Tap on the three vertical dots on the right of the Google Drive file name and then tap the ‘Share’ option.

Step 3: This will open up the “Share ” screen.

Step 4: Now tap on the “who has access” at the bottom of the screen.

Step 5: This will open up a screen showing the entire list of people you have shared the Google Drive file with.

Step 4: You can see that the “Get link” section will set to be Anyone. This means that anyone on the internet with this link can view it.

Step: To remove those people, tap “Change”. Now tap “restricted”.

You may like the following Google Drive tutorials:

And voila! You can now easily remove someone from your Google Drive!