What happens if I delete a shared file from google drive?

Google Drive is not only file storage and synchronization service. It offers many more than storing files on their servers and synchronizing files across devices. One of them is sharing files and folders with people. Yes! You can share the files and folders that you store in Google Drive with anyone. When you share from Google Drive, you can control whether people can edit, comment on, or only view the Google Drive file.

But what happens if you mistakenly or intentionally delete a google drive file someone share or the one you owned? This situation happens for most people. And you may have questions like “When I delete the files, does it delete them for everyone that has shared access to the folder?” or “What about permanently deleted files?” or “Can the other members still access those under their deleted folder?”.

What happens if I delete a shared file from google drive

You may wonder what’re the answers to these questions. Keep on reading to find out answers to these questions and to know what happens if you delete a shared file from Google Drive.

Deleting files from shared folder google drive

Delete files from a shared folder google drive is very simple. First, you have to look up the files that others have shared with you in Google Drive. And then you can directly delete them from your Drive using the “Remove” option.

Shared with me

You can find the “shared with me” option in the left corner of your Google Drive below the “My Drive” option. When you click on the “Share with me” option, you can view all files and folders that are shared with you.

What are the things you can see in “Shared with me”?

  • Files shared with you.
  • Folders shared with you.
  • Files shared with a link that you have opened.

You can also see

  • The date the file was shared with you.
  • The owner of the file.
  • The document type.

How to delete “shared with me” files on google drive?

Step 1: To delete a file from shared folder in Google Drive, find the file you want to delete.

Step 2: Click on that file and click “Remove

Step 3: The shared file will be removed from the “shared with me” view.

Things to consider when you’re trying to delete or move a shared file

When you are working in shared files or folders on Google Drive remember that it is a shared space and so what you do in there will affect the other users of that same space.

If you have Edit permissions to a file in a shared space, even if you are not the owner, you could still move that file out of the shared folder. As a result of this action, your colleagues could lose access to that file.

Remove myself from shared folder google drive

Anything that you can see in “Shared with me” is just a link to the real file on the owner’s account. So, if you remove them from “Shared with me”, you only will lose a link, but other peoples in sharing are not affected. Even if you remove a link of the subfolder, you can continue to access the Main folder and some subfolders in the main folder. 

In short,if you delete a file shared with you, it just removes it from your drive and has no effect on anyone else’s drive.

However, you should not remove content from the shared folder you have edit permission. Other peoples in sharing cannot keep access if removed.

Sometimes, you may experience that Whenever you delete files, it only temporarily removes them from your view and then return when you refresh your google drive page. This is because When you remove a shared file within the shared with me section, it really just removes the shortcut to that file.

If you had access before, you will still have access after. If you click the link to that file after you remove it, the file will reappear in the shared with me section.

What happens if I remove a file shared with me when you have edit permisission?

If you have the “Edit” permission for shared files, once you delete that file, it will also be deleted for every member of the shared folder. However, you won’t be able to permanently delete a file unless you are the owner of the shared folder.

All members can see the deleted files in their “Deleted Files” tab or “Trash”, and restore them within the time frame which is 30 days for Basic and Plus users, and 120 days for Business and Pro users. 

What happens if I remove a file shared with me when you own?

If you are the owner of shared folder or file and delete the same shared document, spreadsheet, or presentation that you own, it will be completely removed from Drive for all collaborators, and they will no longer have access to the document. 

To avoid consequences, before deleting a document, you may want to make someone else its owner so that others can still access it.

How to recover Shared Files in Google Drive 

As we have seen already, files in “Shared with me” belong to all team members rather than a single individual. Even if members leave, Google Drive files stay exactly where they are for other team members to continue sharing information and getting work done.

A G-Suite Admin can recover files from a Shared Drive. To recover shared files from Google Drive, follow the below steps.

Step 1: Log in to the Admin Console.

Step 2: Go to Apps then G Suite. 

Step 3: Click on the Drive and Docs option Find the file or folder you want to restore.

Step 4: Press the Restore button on the right of the file tab.

Step 5: Select the date range for recovering the file(Ensure the file was deleted within the span of these dates.) 

Step 6: Now Press the “Restore data”.

The shared files will be recovered in to Google Drive.

You may like the following google drive tutorials:

And that’s it. Hope you have learned the different possibilities that can happen when you delete a shared file from Google Drive!

Leave a Comment