How to remove shared files from google drive

Apart from storing files on their servers and synchronizing files across devices, Google Drive offers the option to share files and folders with anyone inside or outside the organization. When you share from Google Drive, you can control whether people can edit, comment on, or only view the Google Drive file. The people who have ‘view’ or ‘edit’ or ‘comment’ access to the shared file have the permission to delete the file from their Google Drive view. Let us see how to remove shared files from google drive.

Remove shared files from Google Drive
Remove shared files from Google Drive

Removing shared files is quite simple. But sometimes you may have questions like “If I delete a shared folder in google drive does it delete for everyone?” or “How to remove shared files from Google Drive on Android mobile?” .Keep on reading to find out answers to these questions and to know how to remove shared files from Google Drive.

Removing shared files from Google Drive

Removing shared files from Google Drive is very simple. First, you have to look up the files that your colleagues or people in your organization have shared with you in Google Drive. And then you can directly delete shared files from your Google Drive using the “Remove” option. 

Where to find shared files or folders in Google Drive?

The shared files and folders usually appear in the “Shared with me” section of Google Drive. You can find the “shared with me” option in the left corner of your Google Drive just below the “My Drive” option. When you click on the “Share with me” option, you can view all the files and folders that are shared with you. 

What are the details you can find in the “Shared with me” section of Google Drive?

The “shared with me” section contains all the files and folders shared with you,the date and time it was shared,the actual owner of the file or folder, and the file type.

How to remove shared files from google drive on the Computer?

To remove shared files from Google Drive on the computer, 

Step 1: First, open Google Drive on your computer browser

Step 2: Click on the “Shared with me” option in the left corner of the Google Drive screen.

Step 3: Find the shared file you want to remove from Google Drive.

Step 4: Right-click on that file and click “Remove”

Step 5: The shared file will be removed from the “Shared with me” section.

How to remove shared files from google drive on android?

If someone shared a file or folder with you that you don’t want to see anymore, you can remove it from Google Drive on your Android mobile. To remove shared files from Google Drive on Android,

Step 1: On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Drive app.

Step 2: On the bottom, tap the ‘Shared’ icon ud9SiLP0go2M8CfObDWv Z9 2HrWVhVYdCKeqhnpsUx1q1EmUfBbguio3OVDpl7dE VEidSWTYEebXo9dWYxCyOzb8Es3wzxZObdaCfJDTaOek1plN7gvoUOkSzh cHnaf3vAqqS.

Step 3: Next to the file you want to remove, tap the ‘More’ icon More.

Step 4: Tap Remove.

Does removing a file shared with you affects anyone else’s drive?

Many people have this question. Anything that you are able to see in the “Shared with me” section is just a link to the real file on the owner’s account. So, if you remove them from “Shared with me” in your Google Drive, you are the only one who loses a link, but other peoples in sharing are not affected.

Even if you remove a link of the subfolder, you can continue to access the Main folder and some subfolders in the main folder. 

In short, if you remove a file shared with you, it just removes it from your drive and has no effect on anyone else’s drive. 

Can’t remove shared files from Google Drive

Sometimes, you may experience that whenever you delete files, it only temporarily removes them from your actual view on Google Drive and then return when you refresh your google drive page.

This is because when you remove a shared file within the “shared with me” section, it really just removes the shortcut to that file. If you had access before, you will still have access after. If you click the link to that file after you remove it, the file will reappear in the “Shared with me” section.

Removing a shared file when having edit permissions

If you have the “Edit” permission for shared files, once you delete that file, it will also be temporarily deleted for every member of the shared folder. However, you won’t be able to permanently delete a file unless you are the owner of the shared folder.

All other members who have the shared file can see the deleted files in their “Deleted Files” tab or “Trash”, and can restore them within the time frame which is 30 days for Basic and Plus users, and 120 days for Business and Pro users. 

Removing a shared file when you are the owner

If you are the owner of a shared folder or file and delete the same shared document, spreadsheet, or presentation that you own, it will be completely removed from Drive for all collaborators, and they will no longer have access to the document. 

To avoid consequences, before deleting a document, you have to make someone else its owner.

You may like the following google drive tutorials:

And voila! Hope you have gained some knowledge on how to remove shared files from Google drive on both your computer and android devices.

Leave a Comment