This blog we will see how to track changes using Google docs version control. Google Docs is an effective option for editing and collaborating content with a bunch of people.
But sometimes the possibility of going things can get messy when you have got a cluster of people making suggestions, changing sentences, or deleting paragraphs, it quickly becomes difficult to track changes you have made to a document.
Table Of Contents
Does google docs have version control?
When you work in Google Docs, the changes you made will automatically and constantly get saved (every change and/or edit that has ever made). This constitutes the version control of google docs.
What is google docs version control?
Users with edit access to a file can view its full history including changes made by a shared person through the revision history feature. They can also revert to earlier versions of the file and see which person made specific edits.
This catalog of document changes is called Version History. Version History is a powerful tool that you can wield in all kinds of powerful ways. You have the entire control of the versions and are known as google docs version control.
You can see this option in Microsoft Office with a different name “revision history.” Google Docs’s feature is similar but in the name of “version control.”
How to track changes/versions control in a Google Doc?
You can view version control by going to version history by just hitting Ctrl+Shift+Alt+ H on your keyboard (Windows only).
In your google docs, Find your document’s title, then look down and right of the title for a statement about the document’s edit history.
It will be something along the lines of, “Last edit was 4 minutes ago”. You can reveal the Version control by clicking on this link.
An effective and usual way of tracking changes or version control is using Version History.
- Open a Google Docs.
- To get started, open your document,
Click File > Version History > See Version History
This will open a panel to the right of your document. That panel lists the various versions of your document, along with the names of people who made edits in that version and when those changes were made.
- The right panel of your document will reveal all of your earlier versions of your draft. You can click on any version in the timeline to instantly took over version control. The changes made between the current version and the previous one are highlighted in different colors.
You can disable this highlighting by unchecking Show changes at the bottom of the right panel, allowing you to see a version control of the document without any disturbing visual clutters.
- You have also an option to rename the earlier drafts, to make it easy to find and track version control which draft you’re looking at the moment.
Click on the three vertical dots by hovering over to the right of your different versions of the docs. You will have two options. You can optionally name any version of a document and also create a copy.
Naming is not a necessary one but can be a handy way to keep track of all the changes and change version control. Creating a copy will make a brand new document in Google Docs based on whatever iteration of the current document you specify.
- If you prefer an earlier version of your document and want to restore the changes you have made, you can click “Restore This Version” on the top of the document.
You can restore that version, if you prefer, just by clicking the big blue Restore this version button above the document.
- There is an alternative option for version control where you can also view the comments by clicking on the “Comments Thread” icon beside the “Share” button.
When you click on this comment icon, you have an option to track all the changes you have made to the document and see all the comments you and your collaborators have left.
So now you can revise, comment, and delete within a Google Doc without suffering from the fear of making an irreparable mistake with version control. All the changes you have made are now can always be tracked and restored.
- How to delete google docs edit history
- Google docs vertical text
- How to add table of contents in Google docs
Why Version control?
Editing allows you to alternate your document good. But what if you feel like a previous version was better in some way?
With Google Docs’ version control, you can review previous versions of any document. This lets you grab that one paragraph you regret deleting or even restore your document entirely to a previous version. This feature is enabled by default. So there is no need to turn anything on.
Any time changes you made to the document will be saved with a different version. If you need to go back to an earlier version of a project, Revision history that is version control lets you navigate through it.
You can view an earlier version of your document and see how any edits or suggestions were used with the version control. This can be especially useful for reviewing a project as it evolves, keeping track of a user’s contributions and as a reference for your thought processes with version control.
Who has access to a Document’s Version control?
The document’s owner and the people who have access to the edit option can access a document’s version control. You can verify your document’s sharing settings to check whether you have access to the view the version control.
What are the uses of Version control?
If there are unexpected changes, or you just want to make sure that no unexpected changes have been made, you can review the Version History for edits. Here are a few additional ways that you can get more out of Version control.
- You can use Version control to see exactly how often students edited their essay, when they started, how much time they spent on it, or do multiple revisions to determine how much each student contributed.
- The multiple versions of the same document to be sent back and forth between the Finance department and other folks in the organization during the budget season can be easily tracked with Version control.
- Besides this, Version control can be used for budgets, meeting notes, or almost any other document that suffers from versioning challenges.
If you don’t want to show a new editor every comment and change that your document has been through, you don’t want your editors to have version control, you can follow the below steps to purge the timeline of revisions to your documents. Export your document as a PDF.
- Make a copy of your document. The new copy won’t bring any comments, history, or revisions over with it. To any reviewer, this new document had no history before it was copied.
Now you can use the Version control option to track all your changes effectively by following the above instructions.